Saturday, April 17, 2010


The worst of the Eight Hells is called Continuous Hell,

It has the meaning of Continuous Suffering.

- Nirvana Sutra, Verse 19

Hell or “everlasting damnation” is not the everlastingness of time going on forever, but of the unbroken circle, the continuity and frustration of going round and round in pursuit of something which can never be attained. Hell is the fatuity, the everlasting impossibility, of self-love, self-consciousness, and self-possession. It is trying to see one’s own eyes, hear one’s own ears, and kiss one’s own lips.

No comments:

Post a Comment